Agema Publications

A forum for the disscussion of the Play by Mail games from Agema Publications


Treaty Opinions

Share

count-de-monet
Marquess
Marquess

Number of posts : 291
Location : Reading, Berkshire
Reputation : 10
Registration date : 2008-04-20

Treaty Opinions

Post by count-de-monet on Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:47 pm

guys, while this directly relates to a situation I find myself in, I will try to not guide the responses.

You recieve an in-game treaty with the other party having signed. You sign the treaty, return treaty to other signatory and comply with terms of treaty.

Other party then wishes to make an amendment.

What would be your position

1) Original treaty is not valid despite both parties signed. Treaty valid once amendment is signed
2) Original treaty remains valid as both parties signed. An amendment is possible and supersedes original once signed by both parties

For some additional context the original treaty did contain an error but it related to the signatory's title (stated below the signature) rather than the clauses.

As an example, the Elector of Saxony signing "King of Poland and Saxony" rather than "King of Poland, Elector of Saxony"

Thelittleemperor
Lord
Lord

Number of posts : 71
Reputation : 0
Registration date : 2017-01-28

Re: Treaty Opinions

Post by Thelittleemperor on Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:29 pm

I would think the second .Especially if it is over a wee accident about a title . If there is a signature then it is binding . The use of titles is up to the other player to get right .
The lesson could be though , only ever send a draft treaty until all the its and buts are ironed out . Sometimes I send a treaty and it says at the top " Do not Sign " then when assured of their agreement I send the treaty ready and already signed by me
avatar
Kingmaker
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1644
Age : 61
Location : Scarborough Jewel of the East Coast
Reputation : 27
Registration date : 2008-04-20

Re: Treaty Opinions

Post by Kingmaker on Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:42 pm

as The Little Emperor, if he realised he was giving something he did not want to then he needs to sack his FM and suck it up unless you agree to the change.


_________________
Colonel of the Leib-Kyrassirski Ego Regiment, Commander of the Tsars Personal Bodyguard

avatar
Deacon
Emperor
Emperor

Number of posts : 1633
Age : 55
Location : Portland OR, USA
Reputation : 39
Registration date : 2010-04-13

Re: Treaty Opinions

Post by Deacon on Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:10 pm


Definitely #2. If you have both signed AND dated, then it's immediately in force. You can by mutual agreement amend it, but it is in force.

If the treaty is not dated, then either party can cancel at will.

avatar
one grain of grain
Baron
Baron

Number of posts : 115
Age : 57
Location : perth australia
Reputation : 0
Registration date : 2012-11-17

Re: Treaty Opinions

Post by one grain of grain on Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:07 pm

I agree number 2 should be in force.

Love you Regiments name Kingmaker lol! Tell me do your men have ego's A) because of your benevolent leadership, B) because they like their shiny buttons, or C) their ability to penetrate the noble houses Terem.

One Grain.

Sponsored content

Re: Treaty Opinions

Post by Sponsored content


    Current date/time is Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:03 pm